Carrie Underwood – Some Hearts

99 kr inkl. moms

Would American Idol winner Carrie Underwood have landed a major-label recording contract without winning the hugely popular television contest? Probably. The big-voiced Oklahoman has the pipes, the look, the pedigree, and, most important, the emotional resonance to sustain a professional career. As an investment in her future, her label eschewed the easy path in putting out an album to take advantage of her publicity, going for a name producer, Dann Huff (Keith Urban, Faith Hill, Lonestar), to handle half the tracks. It also solicited material from the same top songwriters (Diane Warren, Brett James, Troy Verges, Rivers Rutherford) who stock albums by Hill, Martina McBride, Trisha Yearwood, and Wynonna. ”Jesus, Take the Wheel,” the hit first single, shows off the best of Underwood’s power vocals, while the sexy rocker ”We’re Young and Beautiful” pulls her out of her ballad-heavy comfort zone, and her autobiographical ”I Ain’t in Checotah Anymore” bolsters her authenticity. If the young performer oversings on occasion (the overwrought bonus track, ”Inside Your Heaven”), and settles for too many generic themes, she still surprises in her ability to go head-to-head with country’s reigning females. Will Underwood really survive to be a contender for the Martina throne? Let’s just say that American Idol judges and voters picked the right contestant. If the posturing Bo Bice had won, rock stars would hardly be quaking in their boots. –Alanna Nash

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. ”Wasted” Troy Verges, Marv Green, Hillary Lindsey 4:34
2. ”Don’t Forget to Remember Me” Morgane Hayes, Kelley Lovelace, Ashley Gorley 4:00
3. ”Some Hearts” Diane Warren 3:48
4. ”Jesus, Take the Wheel” Brett James, Lindsey, Gordie Sampson 3:46
5. ”The Night Before (Life Goes On)” Wendell Mobley, Neil Thrasher, Jimmy Olander 3:54
6. ”Lessons Learned” Warren 4:09
7. ”Before He Cheats” Chris Tompkins, Josh Kear 3:19
8. ”Starts with Goodbye” Angelo Petraglia, Lindsey 4:06
9. ”I Just Can’t Live a Lie” Steve Robson, Wayne Hector 3:59
10. ”We’re Young and Beautiful” Rivers Rutherford, Steve McEwan 3:53
11. ”That’s Where It Is” Melissa Peirce, Robson, Greg Becker 3:35
12. ”Whenever You Remember” Warren 3:47
13. ”I Ain’t in Checotah Anymore” Carrie Underwood, Trey Bruce, Petraglia 3:21
Total length:
Artikelnr: Carrie Underwood Some Hearts Kategorier: ,


Carrie Underwood – Some Hearts

Some Hearts is the debut album from country singer Carrie Underwood, released in the United States on November 15, 2005 by Arista Nashville. The album contains the number one singles ”Jesus, Take the Wheel”, ”Don’t Forget to Remember Me”, ”Wasted”, and ”Before He Cheats”. The North American version contains the Billboard Hot 100number one single, ”Inside Your Heaven,” as a bonus track.

Bolstered by the success of its singles, Some Hearts became the best-selling album of 2006 in all genres in the United States. The album was also the best-selling country album in the United States of both 2006 and 2007, making Underwood the first female artist in Billboard history to earn back-to-back honors for Top Country Album. Additionally, it was the best-selling female country album of 2005, 2006 and 2007. Some Hearts has since been certified seven times Platinum by the RIAA, and is the fastest-selling debut country album in the history of theSoundScan era, the best-selling solo female debut album in country music history, the best-selling Country album of the last 10 years, and the best-selling album by an American Idol alumni in the U.S.

It was listed as one of the 100 Best Selling Albums of All Time by the RIAA in 2009. Some Hearts has since sold over 7.45 million copies in the U.S. and over nine million worldwide. In December 2009, Billboard announced that the album was the biggest-selling country album of the decade, as well as the fourteenth biggest-selling album of any genre.

The album and its songs were well received by the critics. Some Hearts won Album of the Year at the 2007 Academy of Country Music Awards, while ”Jesus, Take the Wheel” and ”Before He Cheats” both won Single of the Year at the 2006 Academy of Country Music Awards and 2007 Country Music Association Awards, respectively. At the 49th Grammy Awards, in 2007, Underwood won the Grammy Award for Best New Artist and the Grammy Award for Best Female Country Vocal Performance, for ”Jesus, Take the Wheel”, which also won Best Country Song for its songwriters, being nominated for Song of the Year as well. The following year, at the 50th Grammy Awards, Underwood won the Grammy for Best Female Country Vocal Performance for ”Before He Cheats”. The song won Best Country Song for the songwriters as well as being nominated for Song of the Year.

Ytterligare information

Vikt 0,3 kg


Det finns inga recensioner än.

Endast inloggade kunder som har köpt denna produkt får lämna en recension.